Museum of Herzegovina
The museum is established in 1952. The first excavation it conducted in 1957 on the church St Peter in Zavala. In 1966, it published the first publication under the name Trebinje 1 of Vasilije Korac. In 1975, it initiates the journal Tribunija. It has at its disposal about 1.500 m² of useful space, 800 m² of which is space for exhibition. Permanent displays and bequests:
- Ducic’s collection with valuable artistic exhibits (72 exhibits of stone plastic, 14 paintings of domestic and foreign painters, tapestry, mosaic, Japanese embroidery, Jovan Ducic’s orders, his ambassadorial clothes and his manuscripts);
- Permanent ethnological display Folk life and culture of Serbs in East Herzegovina in the second half of the 19th century and the first half of the 20th century;
- Permanent archeological display with worthy exhibits from the Stone Age to middle age;
- Memorial exhibition of the paintings of Atanasije Popovic – 43 paintings of famous painter, gift of painter‘s brother Uros Popovic to town Trebinje;
- Bequest of painter Milena Sotra - 24 paintings with motifs of Herzegovina and Itinerary along Russia and 15 graphic arts of painter’s brother, famous graphic artist Branko Sotra;
- Bequest of academic painter Milorad Corovic – 57 paintings;
- Bequest of writer and sculptor Radovan Zdral – 122 sculptures made of semi-precious stone. Apart from these permanent displays and bequests, there are 400 paintings, graphic arts, sculptures and other objects in the fund of Museum of Herzegovina. Annex on Usce (Lastva), bequest of Dubravka Kujacic in which exhibitions, promotions and concerts are held, is also part of Museum of Herzegovina. The museum also has considerable collection of library’s material (the library with technical books from different areas of science, culture and art).
Apart from permanent displays and bequests, occasional exhibitions, poet recitals, promotions of books and music concerts are held in Museum of Herzegovina.